Chandigarh, July 10 – Haryana Chief Minister, Mr. Manohar Lal said that to further strengthen the Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs), State Development Council would be constituted in Haryana on the pattern of National Development Council under his chairmanship whereas Development and Panchayats Minister would be the Vice-Chairman and representatives of Panchayats, Panchayat Samitis, Zila Parishad and Municipal Corporations would be its Members.
The Chief Minister was addressing the gathering after honouring nine Gram Panchayats achieving four star rating under Seven Star Rainbow Scheme, here today. Development and Panchayats Minister, Mr. O.P. Dhankar and Principal Secretary, Development and Panchayats Department, Mr. Sudhir Rajpal were also present on this occasion.
He said that the Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) can play a significant role in development of villages by effectively implementing government schemes for the betterment of the villages. Congratulating the villages which have got four star rating, the Chief Minister said that no scheme of the government can be successful without the support of PRIs.
He said that the Seven Star Rainbow Scheme was launched on January 26, 2018 to improve the life of the villagers and 1120 Gram Panchayats have bagged stars in the first year which shows that the scheme has been a success.
The Chief Minister said that the government had recently launched a campaign on the occasion of Van Mahotsav on June 5 under which one plant each would be planted by the school students of classes VI to ten plus two. He said that the government had also launched a campaign to install water taps in villages to ensure water conservation. The Gram Panchayats should play their role in the success of these initiatives, he added.
The Chief Minister said that under Mahagram Yojana, all basic amenities are being provided in 126 villages. Similarly, under Shivdham Navinikaran Yojana, the facilities of paved roads, boundary walls, shed and water supply would be completed in the next six months. For the management of solid and liquid waste, Gobardhan Yojana had been initiated to generate energy from waste. So far, the work of installation of plant in districts Faridabad, Gururgram and Sonipat has started. He also called upon the representatives of PRIs present there, to explore the possibility of initiating Gobardhan Yojana in their respective villages.
He said that the state government has also initiated the scheme of opening of college at a distance of every 20 km, under which 51 such sites have been identified where colleges would be opened out of which foundation stone of 22 colleges has already been laid.
Haryana Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare Minister, Mr O.P. Dhankar said that he had recently met Defence Minister Mrs Nirmala Sitharaman and requested that the statues of martyrs of Haryana who attained martyrdom in the revolution of 1857, first and second world war, India-China war, India-Pakistan or Kargil war to be built in their native villages. He said that 7 star Rainbow Scheme is unique scheme of Haryana and other states are contacting Haryana to emulate the same in their states.
Gram Panchayat Akbarpur and Hadbon of district Ambala, Banawali Sottar and Malhar of district Fatehabad, Wazirpur of district Gurugram, Behbalpur of district Hisar, Ramgarh and Karna of district Palwal and Madalpur of district Faridabad have achieved four star rating for better performance under Beti Bachao Beti Padhao, Swachhta Abhiyan, education, environment conservation, peace and harmony, and social participation.
Under the Seven Star Rainbow Scheme, Gram Panchayats would get Rs one lakh each for every single star and additional bonus of Rs 50,000 is being given for better performance under Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao and Swachhta Abhiyan. Cash prize of Rs four lakh each has been given to Gram Panchayat Akbarpur of district Ambala and Gram Panchayat Behbalpur of district Hisar. Similarly, cash prize of Rs 4.5 lakh each has been given to Gram Panchayat Hadbon of district Ambala, Gram Panchayat Banawali Sottar and Malhar of district Fatehabad, Gram Panchayat Wazirpur of district Gurugram and, Gram Panchayat Ramgarh and Karna of district Palwal. He said that cash prize of Rs five lakh has been given to Gram Panchayat Madalpur of district Faridabad.