Chandigarh,12.10.17-PGIMER faculty members were presented ICMR Awards by Smt. Anupriya Patel, Minister of State for Health & Family Welfare at a function organised in New Delhi. Prof Deepak Bansal, Professor, Department of Pediatric Medicine (2016) was awarded ‘Dr. P. N. Raju Oration Award’. Dr. Sandeep Grover, Additional Professor, Department of Psychiatry (2016) and Dr. Ajit Avasthi, Professor and Head, Department of Psychiatry (2014) were awarded ‘Dr Vidya Sagar Award’.  Dr. Sahajal Dhooria, Assistant Professor, Department of Pulmonary Medicine (2016) and Dr. Navneet Singh, Associate Professor, Department of Pulmonary Medicine (2014) were awarded ‘Smt. Kamal Satbir Award’. Dr. Sandeep Grover, Additional Professor, Department of Psychiatry (2013) was awarded 'Shakuntala Amir Chand Prize'.  Dr. Jitendra Kumar Sahu, Associate Professor, Department of Pediatric Medicine (2014) was awarded 'Dr. H.B. Dingley Memorial Award. Dr. Surjit Singh, Professor and Head, Department of Pediatric Medicine (2011) was awarded 'ICMR Chaturvedi Kalawati Jagmohan Das Memorial Award'- Gold Medal. Dr. Akshay Anand, Professor, Department of Neurology (2012) and Dr. Virendra Singh, Professor, Department of Hepatology (2014) were awarded 'Amrut Mody Unichem Prize'.

Smt. Anupriya Patel, Minister of State for Health & Family Welfare was the chief guest of the function. Dr. V. K. Paul, Member, NITI Aayog, New Delhi & Prof. K. Vijay Raghavan, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology were the Guests of Honour and Shri ‘Vaidya’ Rajesh Kotecha, Special Secretary, Ministry of AYUSH was special invitee. Dr. Soumya Swaminathan, Secretary, DHR & DG, ICMR gave the welcome address.

The Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi  organised the Awards Presentation Ceremony at Auditorium of National Academy of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. The award/prizes recognizes excellence in various fields of health science research by Indian biomedical scientists.

Indian council of medical research (ICMR) is the national agency for the promotion and conduct of biomedical research in India. The council announced awards for Indian scientists in recognition of their contributions made in various field of biomedical research.

Three doctors of PGI were present during the function to receive the awards. These were Dr. Jitendra Kumar Sahu, Dr. Virendra Singh and Dr. Sahajal Dhooria.