Chandigarh February 14, 2018-  “CHASCON 2018 has again proven to be significantly successful taking a prominent step ahead in showcasing the useful measures for conducting appraisals of cost-effectiveness and real benefits which energy efficiency measures can unlock and aid the society”, said Prof Jagat Ram, Director PGIMER, Chandigarh while giving valedictory address of the 3 days 12thChandigarh Science Congress at Panjab University, here today.

            He further added that the true Torch Bearer behind this exceedingly remarkable occasion is the Chief Patron of this Congress, Prof. Arun K. Grover who has been working laboriously and dedicatedly for the last several years to integrate the Panjab University with other academic and research institutions of the Chandigarh Region under one ambitious umbrella and has set an example of creating an enthusiastic and innovative group by arranging and holding continuous discussion, meetings with the eminent scientific leaders under his able guidance and unstinted support.

            He urged all to contribute for the fulfillment of the futuristic vision of Hon’ble Prime Minister Sh Narinder Modi’s vision to promote indigenous scientific products and achieving goals of Make in India. I believe that we should make indigenous product cost effective and improve its quality to make it comparable or better than those from other global companies. Beside up-gradation of knowledge, CHASCON has served as a platform in bringing together the CRIKC members, researchers, scientists, and industrialists. It has also served as a source of inspiration to young researchers and scientists in igniting new thoughts, developing new research ideas and futuristic visions for the welfare of humanity.

            He further added that the need of an hour is to explore more possibilities of developing new inventions, innovations and products among the CRICK Institutions including PGI, which will be ultimately beneficial to patient population as well as to common man at the national and global level. He was positive about association of PGI with CRIKC Institution and promised to increase collaborations in several medical fields.

             Prof. Arun K. Grover, Vice Chancellor, PU, said that it is heartening to learn that a large number of participants both faculty and students participated in the event. Several distinguished scientists from elite institutes like IISER, Pune, IARI, New Delhi, Ashoka University, Sonepat, Department of Psychiatry GMCH-32, Dept. of Endocrinology, PGIMER, CeNSE Bangalore, CSIR-CSIO delivered stimulating talks. He informed that PU is taking all necessary steps to provide adequate facilties to around 1000 researchers for comfortable stay at PU during their research period.

Dr. Promila Pathak, Professor, Deptt of Botany, PU and Coordinator of CHASCON in her address informed that the Science Congress invited some edifying exhibitions from institutes/departments and private companies. The students got an opportunity to display their talent and exchange ideas and enlighten the number of scientifically and technically trained people. The private companies were also benefitted from such affairs as they obtain fruitful prospects to endorse their products, innovations and enhance socialization and networking with potential clients and colleagues for creation of new ventures and businesses, ultimately extending a hand for the welfare of the community at large.

            Eminent Scientists, members of the (Chandigarh Regional Innovation and Knowledge Cluster (CRIKC), faculty, researchers, students and around 1000 delegates participated in the Science Congress.

 The results of various competitions organized during CHASCON 2018 by Science Departments, PU are as below. They were felicitated at the Valedictory function



Title of the Plenary lecture




Characteristics of hydrogeological set–up deciphered through geophysical surface investigation (resistivity survey) in District Bhathinda, State Punjab

Suresh Chandra Kapil, Senior Geophysicist (Scientist ‘D’) CGWB, NWR Chandigarh

Earth Sciences

Best oral

Ms. Yashvi

Best poster

Mr. Ravi S. Chaubey


  • What Industry Expects from Pharma Graduates?


  • Drug Development and Approval: Evolving Roles of Healthcare 

Mr Rahul Bansal, Director, Medilabs, Baddi

Mr Manoj Kumar, Safety Scientist and UIPS Alumnus

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Best oral

Ms Anjleena

Best poster

Ms Bonita Gilbert Borges


High Energy Experimental Physics: An Overview

Prof. Vipin Bhatnagar

Deptt. of Physics, P. U. Chandigarh




Physical Sciences

Best oral

 Anuj Gupta

Best poster

Sumandeep Kaur


Biometric and it’s relevance to the Society in Present Scenario

Ms. Ravinder Sahi, Scientist 'G' & Director, ETDC Mohali

Engineering Sciences

Best oral: Dr. Amit Keshav, NIT, Raipur

Best poster:

1st prize- Manvi Hindwan


Proposing a settings based approach of Quaternary prevention to cultivate a new Health culture in Chandigarh-potential for a joint venture between Panjab University and PGIMER, Chandigarh

Prof. Amarjeet Singh,

School of Public

Health, PGIMER,



Anthropology and Public Health

Best oral: Jasbir Arora

Best poster:

Sunny Sachdeva and Aprajita Singla


Strategies for development of biosensors

Dr. Suman Singh, a senior Scientist at CSIO and paediatrician


Best oral:

Ms. Shivanshi Vasisht

Best poster:

Shivanshi Vasisht


Technology related privacy concerns in our daily life

Prof Sanjeev Sofat

PEC, Chandigarh

Mathematical Sciences

Best oral:

Mokshi Goyal

Shradha Arya

Manish Goyal

Best poster:

Supreet Kaur Mann


Food Security and Climate



Prof S S. Chahal

Professor Emeritus



Plant Sciences

Best oral:

Amrit Bharti   

Best poster:

Lakita Kashyap  


Protecting Innovations in Translational Research

Prof R.K.Tuli

Former Director NABI


J C Bose Fellow and Sr Scientific Advisor UIET

Emerging Areas

Best Paper:

Sonal  Choudhary

Best Poster:

Aprajita Gupta


Common Causes of Headache

Dr. Manish Modi

Neurologist, Dept of Neurology, PGI,CHD

Animal Sciences





Dental Sciences

Best Paper:

Dr. Neeraj Yadav

Best Poster:

Sargam Ravi and  Sileena Jaidev Pannu




Chemical Sciences

Best Paper: Shilpa


Best Poster:

Jasminder Singh

Akshpreet Singh