CHANDIGARH, AUGUST 17: Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh has approved the names of five eminent sportspersons to be members of the Governing Council of Punjab Institute of Sports (PIS).

The sportspersons, to be part of the Governing Council, are from different disciplines of sports, according to an official spokesperson.

They include renowned hockey player and Arjuna Awardee Brig. Harcharan Singh, eminent Athlete and Arjuna Awardee Gurmeet Kaur, noted Kabaddi player and Arjuna Awardee Hardeep Singh, Cricket icon and Arjuna Awardee, Padam Shri Harbhajan Singh, besides Internationally acclaimed shooter and Rajeev Gandhi Khel Ratan Awardee Abhinav Bindra.

PIS is the principal policy formulating body of sports in Punjab. The institute has been mandated to create a sizeable pool of high-potential sportspersons, to be groomed as medal prospects in Olympics, Commonwealth Games, Asian Games and other National and International competitions. They are given scientific training by coaches of eminence in ultra-modern sports complexes with the latest sports equipment.


Delegation of Sri Lankan Judges visits Punjab Vidhan Sabha

Chandigarh, August 17:A delegation of Sri Lankan Judges led by Justice K. Priyantha Fernando, Judge of the court of appeal of Sri Lanka, on Saturday evening visited Punjab Vidhan Sabha here.

The delegation was accompanied by District and Sessions Judge-cum-Director (Administration) Chandigarh Judicial Academy Ms. Shalini Singh Nagpal and Additional District and Sessions Judge-cum-Registrar Chandigarh Judicial Academy Ms. Anupamish Modi.

The delegation took a tour of the Assembly hall and the Secretary to Punjab Vidhan Sabha Speaker, Mr. Ram Lok briefed about the history and present composition of the Legislative Assembly. The delegation also took keen interest in the function of the Assembly. On the behalf of Punjab Vidhan Sabha Speaker Rana KP Singh, the Secretary felicitated the delegation members with momentos.

The 14-member delegation comprised of Chilwa District judge Mr. L.M. Rathnayaka, Mt. Lavinia Additional District Judge Mr. G.M.T.U. Suwandurugoda, Matara Magistrate Mr. I.N.N. Kumarage, Ratnapura Additional District Judge Ms. K.V.M.P. De Silva, Balangoda District Judge Mr. D.M.J. Dissanayaka, Colombo Additional Magistrate Mrs. G.H.K.N. Silva, Balapitiya Magistrate Mr. S.S.N. Gamage, Welimada District Judge Ms. B.G.N.T.K. Bogahadeniya, Gampaha Additional Magistrate Mr. D.M.S. Karunarathna, Kalmunai Magistrate Mr. I.N. Rizwan, KandyAdditional District Judge Mr. N.T. Heenatigala, Badulla District Judge Mr. R.M.S.N. Samaratunga and Muttur District Judge Mr. M.S.M. Samsudeen.